

THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

## 76<sup>th</sup> STUDENT SENATE Senate Resolution

Resolution #: 22

Primary Sponsor(s): Srivastava

**Co-Sponsor(s):** Blackwell, Brown, Carr, Castellanos, Emokidi, Goldstein, Gutierrez, Hine, Khosh, Lalani, Lansdale, Lento, Meier, Smith, Vargheese, Velazquez **Date:** 2/3/24

**Whereas:** February 14th, 2024, marks 6 years of the Marjory Stoneman Douglas school shooting; and

**Whereas:** School shootings lead to a massive drop in student enrollment, student graduation rates, student average test scores, and overall student mental health; and

**Whereas:** The ramifications of this shooting have changed the Marjory Stoneman Douglas and Parkland community forever; and

**Whereas:** The Student Senate not only understands the detrimental effects gun-violence has had and continues to have on education around the country, but also recognizes the tremendous potential lost that day, and the bravery each victim showed;

**Be it resolved by the Seventy-Sixth Student Senate at Florida State University that:** The Student Senate vehemently condemns the availability of military-grade semi-automatic weapons, much like the weapon used to kill the 17 beautiful souls on February 14th, 2018, for being available to the general public, and recognizes the failure of the American government in protecting its children.

**Be it further resolved that:** This condemnation is rooted in our commitment to the safety and well-being of the students and citizens alike. The Student Senate recognizes the devastating impact of gun violence, especially in educational institutions, and stands in solidarity with those affected by such senseless acts.

**Be it further resolved that:** The Student Senate undoubtably agrees that guns have no place in education and that sensible gun control measures are essential to creating a safe environment for students and citizens across the nation and urges lawmakers to enact legislation that addresses the root cause of gun violence: the guns.

**Be it further resolved that:** The Student Senate calls upon lawmakers to address the issue of gun-violence, and honors and remembers all the 17 victims of the shooting: Alyssa Alhadeff (14), Martin Duque Anguiano (14), Scott Beigel (35), Nicholas Dworet (17), Aaron Feis (37), Jamie Guttenberg (14), Chris Hixon (49), Luke Hoyer (15), Cara Loughran (14), Gina Montalto (14), Joaquin Oliver (17), Alaina Petty (14), Meadow Pollack (18), Helena Ramsay (17), Alex Schachter (14), Carmen Schentrup (16), Peter Wang (15). The Student Senate also remembers Sydney Aiello (19), and another unnamed student, both of whom committed suicide following the shooting because of PTSD and survivor's guilt.

**Be it further resolved that:** A copy of this resolution be sent to Dr. Amy Hecht, Vice President for Student Affairs Andy Johnson, Program Director of Student Governance and Advocacy Michelle Kefford, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Principal Christine Hunschofsky, Florida House of Representatives Rich Walker, Mayor of Parkland Ron DeSantis, Governor of Florida

OFFICIAL:

2/20/2024 | 12:07 PM PST

<sup>371F726A9A924B6...</sup>Student Senate President

**SENATE VOTE:** Acclamation **PASSED:** February 14, 2024