Florida State University Congress of Graduate Students

Congress of Graduate Students



There are currently four (3) standing committees in COGS. Members are appointed by the Speaker, and with the exception of the Budget Committee, meets at least once every two months. 

Each committee has a chair who is elected by its members. Committees (with the exception of the budget committee) reports to the Congress on their activities at each meeting of the Assembly.


Internal Affairs:
A) Prepare and distribute the monthly COGS newsletter
B) Keep website information updated
C) Outreach to fill vacant seats in the Assembly
D) Relations between COGS and the SGA, MSC, and LSC
E) Oversight all COGS funding expenditure
F) Train new COGS members
G) Make/Propose amendments to the COGS Code
H) Hear cases of impeachment and removal prior to the full Assembly
I) Maintain attendance records, and initiate removal proceedings for members who are no longer in compliance with attendance requirements
J) All other areas in which the Chair and the Speaker agree the committee should focus


Student Affairs:
A) Academics and Honor Policy
B) Parking and Transportation
C) Housing and Dining
D) Library
E) Health and Wellness
F) Social and Community Programming
G) All other areas in which the Chair and the Speaker agree


Student Advocacy:
A) Graduate student pay and funding
B) Childcare
C) Relations with the Graduate Assistants Union
D) Diversity on campus
E) Health Insurance
F) All other areas in which the Chair and the Speaker agree the
committee should focus


Committee Chairs and Upcoming Meetings

Internal Affairs Committee:
Chair: Erick Rivers
Vice-Chair: Katherine Gui

Joshua Burns

Nella Delva

Susan Rogowski

Jack Rowan

Dates: Monday, September 25, 2023
Time: 6 p.m.
Zoom Link: https://fsu.zoom.us/j/99497288019

Student Affairs Committee:
Chair: Joseph Risler 
Vice Chair: TBD

Emily Beavon

Zeinab Elmi

Laura Vaughn

Eric Wesner

Date: Thursday, September 21, 2023
Time: 7 p.m.
Zoom Link: https://us04web.zoom.us/j/73835592019?pwd=Gyhwhvxx0oU12TXSWD9g9nzceKieDY.1

Student Advocacy Committee:
Chair: Francis Ebuara
Vice-Chair: TBD

Ridwan Balogun

Jorge Galeano Cabral

Shezin Hussain

Savoya Joyner

Kevin Salimi

Gizem Somaz

Date:  Friday, April 28, 2023
Time: 5:30 p.m.



Committee Minutesright arrow