

THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

## 76<sup>th</sup> STUDENT SENATE Senate Resolution

Resolution #: 18

**Primary Sponsor(s):** Ahuja, McEnery **Co-Sponsor(s):** Barresi, Carr, Castellanos, Chinn, Daley, Emokidi, García, Grant, Hine, Meier, Rodriguez, Smith, Souvenir, Valdes-Herrera, Vargheese, Windlan **Date:** January 27, 2024

**Whereas:** On Wednesday, January 24th, the Board of Governors met on Florida State's campus to discuss Regulation 8.005 and Regulation 9.016, both regulations were created via HB999,

**Whereas:** Regulation 8.005 removes SYG X001 Principles of Sociology as a general education core course option for students and Regulation 9.016 bans all funding towards Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion programs in Florida public universities,

Whereas: During a 15-minute period of public comments; experts, students, and faculties shared their opposition toward these two regulations and urged the Board of Governors to vote against them,

Whereas: However, the Board of Governors approved both regulations,

**Whereas:** As leaders of Florida State, we must show the student body that we stand with them and that we disagree with the decision to approve Regulation 8.005 and Regulation 9.016 as both regulations lower the prestige of Florida universities and colleges,

**Be it resolved by the Seventy-Sixth Student Senate at Florida State University that:** We condemn the decision of the Board of Governors to approve Regulation 8.005 and Regulation 9.016 and we urge the Board of Governors to listen to the student body in future decisions.

**Be it further resolved that:** A copy of this resolution be sent to Ashley Bell Barnett, Board of Governors Member Timothy M. Cerio, Board of Governors Member Manny Diaz, Jr., Board of Governors Member Aubrey Edge, Board of Governors Member Patricia Frost, Board of Governors Member Edward Haddock, Board of Governors Member Ken Jones, Board of Governors Member Darlene Luccio Jordan, Board of Governors Member Brian Lamb, Board of Governors Member Alan Levine, Board of Governors Member Charles H. Lydecker, Board of Governors Member Craig Mateer, Board of Governors Member Jose Oliva, Board of Governors Member Amanda J. Phalin, Board of Governors Member Eric Silagy, Board of Governors Member Jack Hitchcock, Student Body President Dr. Richard McCullogh, President of Florida State University Dr. Amy Hecht, Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Zduy Chu, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Brandon Bowden, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs

	DocuSigned by:	
OFFICIAL:	Jough of TH	2/20/2024   12:08 PM PST
_	371F726A9A924B6	Student Senate President
		SENATE VOTE: 42-1-0

SENATE VOTE: 42-1-0 PASSED: February 14, 2024