

THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

## 75<sup>th</sup> STUDENT SENATE Senate Resolution

Resolution #: 89

Primary Sponsor: Diaz Co-Sponsor(s): Cofer Date: November 1, 2023

**Whereas:** On September 27, 2023, in line with the Student Senate's statutory obligation pursuant to Student Body Statute 705.5(D), the 75th Student Senate passed Resolution 64, approving the reapportionment of Senate seats in conjunction with the Office of the Supervisor of Elections, and

**Whereas:** On May 3, 2023, FSU Provost Dr. Jim Clark, announced that the FSU Colleges of Education and Health & Human Sciences would merge into a new university division, entitled the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences (CEHHS), with a target effective date of July 2023, and

**Whereas:** Pursuant to 75<sup>th</sup> Resolution 64, the College of Education was apportioned two (2) fall seats and 2 spring seats for the duration of the fall 2023 and spring 2024, and

**Whereas:** Pursuant to 75<sup>th</sup> Resolution 64, the College of Health & Human Sciences was apportioned one (1) fall seat and 1 spring seat for the duration of the fall 2023 and spring 2024, and

**Whereas:** Student Body Statute 705.5(C) states, "Using the Student Data Base, the seats shall be apportioned each fall based on the percentages of students in each representative division. All students will be classified by their division and will be eligible to vote and run for seats in their respective division," therefore

**Be it resolved by the Seventy-fifth Student Senate at Florida State University that:** The Student Senate, in its duty to ensure the representation of all members of the Student Body by college division, continues to recognize and adhere to 75<sup>th</sup> Resolution 64 with the below-mentioned changes, and

**Be it further resolved that:** In keeping with the University's plan to merge the Colleges of Education and Health & Human Sciences, effective upon sine die of the 75<sup>th</sup> Student Senate, the Senate will jointly recognize the new College of CEHHS as having six (6) Senate seats, and

**Be it further resolved that:** The breakdown of the apportioned seats for the new College of CEHHS, and the Senators-elect who will hold the seats, shall be recognized as follows:

- New CEHHS Division Seat 1: Benjamin Salazar (formerly Education-1)
- New CEHHS Division Seat 2: Jason Gorelick (formerly Education-2)
- New CEHHS Division Seat 3: Marcus Daniely (formerly Health-1)
- New CEHHS Division Seat 4: Amelie Olsen-Galvan (formerly Health-2)
- New CEHHS Division Seat 5: Anthony DeVitto (formerly Education-3)
- New CEHHS Division Seat 6: Ashlyn Barresi (formerly Education-4)

**Be it further resolved that:** The Senators serving in these newly-defined seats shall continue to be entitled to the full rights and responsibilities granted to them by the FSU Student Body Constitution and Statutes until the expiration of their current terms, and shall be subject to the same rules and regulations pertaining to "loss of Senate office due to reapportionment" found in Student Body Statute 705.6(F), and

**Be it further resolved that:** The Student Senators forming this new division shall be strongly encouraged to engage in responsible and relevant dialogue with their new constituents to best understand and be receptive to the needs of their college, and

**Be it lastly resolved that:** A copy of this resolution be sent to: Dr. Amy Hecht, Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Felicia Williams, Director of Student Engagement Jack Hitchcock, Student Body President Savannah Stewart, Student Body Chief of Staff Jackson Boisvert, Student Body Attorney General Spencer Greenwood, SGA Supervisor of Elections Samuel Diaz, 75<sup>th</sup> Student Senate President

DocuSigned by:

OFFICIAL:

11/13/2023 | 11:58 AM PST

Student Senate President

SENATE VOTE: Unanimous Consent PASSED: November 8, 2023