

THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

IRES

## 75<sup>th</sup> STUDENT SENATE Senate Resolution

Resolution #: 87

Primary Sponsor(s): LoBianco, Salazar Co-Sponsor(s): Dlugos, Lento, Lewis, Nguyen, Windlan Date: 10/31/2023

**Whereas:** According to Student Body Statutes 900.5, "Bureaus shall be annually reviewed by the Internal Affairs Committee, which shall recommend to Student Senate if a Bureau shall continue to exist", and

**Whereas:** The Student Council for Undergraduate Research and Creativity was heard by the Internal Affairs Committee of the 75th Student Senate on October 24th, 2023, and

**Whereas:** The Internal Affairs Committee supports the efforts of the Student Council for Undergraduate Research and Creativity to work to establish a solid connection with the Student Senate through constant communication with their liaison in order to resolve any issues they may have with their current statutes, and

ARTES

**Whereas:** The Internal Affairs Committee strongly encourages the Student Council for Undergraduate Research and Creativity to establish consistent meeting hours with its team in order to better execute its mission and improve communication amongst leadership and to better reflect the professionalism expected of an SGA bureau, and

**Whereas:** The Internal Affairs Committee strongly supports a budget increase for the Student Council for Undergraduate Research and Creativity if they commit to an increase in programming, and

**Be it resolved by the Seventy-fifth Student Senate at Florida State University that:** Upon completion of Bureau Review, the Internal Affairs Committee of the 75th Student Senate recommends the Student Council for Undergraduate Research and Creativity should continue working with its faculty advisor to continue operating and continue its work on Florida State University's campus after proper review of the aforementioned recommendations, and

**Be it further resolved that:** A copy of this Resolution be sent to the following: Jack Hitchcock, Student Body President Adam Bowling, Student Body Treasurer Samuel Diaz, Student Senate President Joseph Cofer, Student Senate Pro-Tempore Andy Johnson, Assistant Director of Student Governance and Advocacy Dr. Felicia Williams, Director of Student Engagement Reghan Chartrand, Student Senate Parliamentarian Sofia Binjaku, Student Senate Clerk Lauryn Klostreich, Student Senate Historian William Dhana, Student Council for Undergraduate Research and Creativity Director Charlie Azzarito, Student Council for Undergraduate Research and Creativity Assistant Director

DocuSigned by:

OFFICIAL:

11/13/2023 | 10:35 AM PST

Student Senate President

**SENATE VOTE:** Unanimous Consent PASSED: November 8, 2023