

THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

74th STUDENT SENATE Senate Resolution

Resolution #: 44 Primary Sponsor: Garner Co-Sponsor(s): Kariher

Whereas: Student Body Statute 413.3 states, "The FSU Student Senate Award for Excellence is to be granted for distinguished service to the Florida State University or to the community, or for outstanding performance in representing this university," and

Whereas: The "World-Renowned" Florida State University Marching Chiefs serving as the sound of our university has been a pillar of school spirit and an endless source of pride. Comprised of more than 420 students, spanning all majors and classes, the Marching Chiefs have been a crucial component of student life on our campus.

Whereas: Internationally recognized as one of the finest collegiate marching bands in the world, the Marching Chiefs have maintained a standard of excellence for nearly 100 years. In continuing to set the example for our university, the Marching Chiefs have elected the first woman of color in the organization's history to be their Head Drum Major, Samantha Maltagliati.

Whereas: The Marching Chiefs have had many notable performances including Rose Bowl parades, College Football National Championships, NFL Super Bowls, and several international appearances including, the United Kingdom, Jordan, Syria, and most recently in the 75th Anniversary D-Day parade in Normandy, France.

Whereas: The Marching Chiefs continues to exemplify the very best of our university, and its members are some of the greatest ambassadors Florida State has to offer.

Be it resolved by the Seventy-fourth Student Senate at Florida State University that: The Student Senate expresses its support for and pride in the "World Renowned" Florida State University Marching Chiefs and wishes the organization and its members well as it continues to represent this university with the utmost strength, skill and character, and

Be it further resolved that: The "World-Renowned" Florida State University Marching Chiefs are nominated for the FSU Student Senate Award for Excellence, and

Be it lastly resolved that: A copy of this resolution be sent to: Dr. Patrick Dunnigan, Director of Bands Dr. David Plack, Director of Athletic Bands Dr. Chandler Wilson, Assistant Director of Athletic Bands Samantha Maltagliati, Head Drum Major Samuel Diaz, Student Senate President Nimna Gabadage, Student Body President Dr. Richard McCullough, President of Florida State University Dr. Amy Hecht, Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Todd Queen, Dean of the College of Music

ocuSigned by: Soulficit

OFFICIAL:

6/23/2022 | 3:16 PM EDT

Student Senate President

SENATE VOTE: 18-0-2 PASSED: June 22nd, 2022