

74th STUDENT SENATE Senate Resolution

Resolution #: 62

Primary Sponsor: Diaz

Co-Sponsor(s): Barrett, Bettley, DuChêne, Folwell, Kaneshige, Kariher, Maglin, Rivers, St. Hillaire, Suarez, Tucker

Whereas: Student Body Statute 413.3 states, "The FSU Student Senate Award for Excellence is to be granted for distinguished service to the Florida State University or to the community, or for outstanding performance in representing this university," and

Whereas: The FSU College of Law's Black Law Students Association (BLSA) competed in the Southern Regional of the Constance Baker Motley Mock Trial Competition in February 2022 and won first place for the third consecutive year, and

Whereas: Winning this regional competition allowed the BLSA to compete in the Constance Baker Motley Mock Trial Competition at the national level, which took place from March 17-18, 2022, and further elevated Florida State University's national image as a preeminent public university, and

Whereas: FSU students Judelande Jeune, Kayla Neal, Nyah Tennell, and Khamisi Thorpe remained undefeated and unconquered throughout the national championship, leading them to a first-place victory in this national event that featured fifteen other prestigious law school teams from across the United States, and

Whereas: FSU BLSA team member Khamisi Thorpe additionally won the award for the competition's Best Advocate for the Prosecution and teammate Nyah Tennell also won the award for Best Advocate for the Defense at the national BLSA championship, therefore

Be it resolved by the Seventy-fourth Student Senate at Florida State University that: The Student Senate expresses its support and pride for the FSU Black Law Students Association graduate team and wishes the organization and its members well as it continues to represent this University with the utmost strength, skill and character, and

Be it further resolved that: The Florida State University Graduate Black Law Students Association is nominated for an FSU Student Senate Award for Excellence, and

Be it lastly resolved that: A copy of this resolution be sent to:
Briana Saffold, President of the FSU Graduate Black Law Students Association
Glenda Thornton, FSU Black Law Students Association Advisor
Abril Hunter, Student Senate President
Nimna Gabadage, Student Body President
Dr. Richard McCullough, President of Florida State University
Dr. Amy Hecht, Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Erin O'Hara O'Connor, Dean of the FSU College of Law

	DocuSigned by:	
OFFICIAL .	Abril Hunter	10/9/2022 6:23 PM EDT
OFFICIAL:	18244305E958499	

Student Senate President

Senate Vote: PASSES BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT PASSED: October 5th, 2022