Legislative Branch

Senate meets Wednesdays at 7:30 p.m. in the Senate Chambers within the Oglesby Union.

Each of the 80 Senators represents one of FSU’s 17 divisions. First- and second-year students are listed under undergraduate studies. Third- and fourth-year students are classified by their majors.
Senators are elected in the fall and spring about five weeks after classes begin. To run for the Senate, you must file your candidacy application with the Supervisor of Elections office by the advertised deadline, usually four weeks after classes begin. If you run as an Independent (without a party affiliation), you must file your candidacy application.

Campus political parties usually help their candidates complete candidacy applications and submit them for their candidates. Most parties interview students to choose those whose campaigns the parties will support. To run with a party, promptly contact the party in which you are interested to be sure you meet its deadlines. A party can help you follow the Election Code and rules, meet election deadlines and plan your campaign.

The Student Body President can appoint a student to a vacant senate seat after advertising the vacancy two times in a campus newspaper. Appointed senators require senate confirmation. To be considered for an advertised open senate seat for which you qualify, immediately complete an applicaton at the SGA Office in Union 205.

Senate is divided into 17 FSU divisions:

  • Applied Studies
  • Arts and Sciences
  • Business
  • Communication & Information
  • Criminology
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Graduate Studies
  • Human Sciences
  • Motion Picture, Television and Recording Arts
  • Music
  • Nursing
  • Social Sciences
  • Social Work
  • Special Student
  • Undergraduate Studies/Basic Studies
  • Visual Arts, Theatre, and Dance


There are six Senate committees:

  • Budget
  • Finance
  • Judiciary
  • Internal Affairs
  • Student Affairs
  • Rules and Calendar


Visit Mobile Site